HDNL / Yodel Company Info

Company History

Home Delivery Network Limited is owned by Shop Direct, the huge company which owns or purchased companies such as Littlewoods, Kays, Great Universal, Choice, Woolworths (trade name and Ladybird rights bought), Shop Direct Home Shopping Ltd, Additions Direct, Everyday Financial Solutions Ltd and Optimum Contact Solutions Ltd.

HDNL came about by the merger of Business Express (the Littlewoods delivery company) and Reality (the Shop Direct delivery company) in 2005. They currently deliver for the Shop Direct group of companies but also Tesco Direct, Amazon.com, dabs.com, Sainsbury’s (non-food products), Play.com, Dolphin Music and others – around 120 retailers in all. Not all deliveries from these companies may be sent via Home Delivery Network, for example smaller items such as DVDs and books from Play.com and Amazon are usually sent via Royal Mail. Some companies (like Amazon) have several contracts with different courier companies.

In January 2010 a subsidiary of HDNL called Parcelpoint Ltd announced a deal to purchase the domestic arm of DHL Express (UK) Ltd. The Office of Fair Trading cleared the purchase at the start of March 2010. The new name for the HDN and Parcelpoint business is Yodel. Jonathan Smith, the former director or DHL Express took over as Group Chief Executive as HDNLs Group Chief Executive Brian Gaunt left.

HDNL Company Information

The Yodel group claims to deliver over 150 million parcels per year with annual revenues of £600,000,000. They are the second largest parcel delivery business in the UK (Royal Mail is the first).

Registered Office:
L70 1AB
Limited Company No. 05200072

Contact URL: http://www.yodel.co.uk/contact.aspx

Feedback URL: http://www.yodel.co.uk/feedback.aspx

Customer Service Email: hdnhlc@hdnl.co.uk

Some names at HDNL / Yodel etc. (although some may have changed now):

Sir David Barclay and Sir Frederick Barclay – Owners
Brian Gaunt – Chief Executive
Neil Lloyd – Chief Executive (as of Feb 2013)
Dick Stead – Executive Chairman
Jonathan Smith – Group Chief Executive (leaving at end of 2012)
Mark Lewis – CEO of CollectPlus
Marija Simovic – Chief Operating Officer
Mark Strickland – Chief Finance Officer
Peter Fisher – Chief Commercial Officer
Adam Smith – Commercial Director (leaving at end of 2012)
Greg Smith – Chief Information Officer (leaving at end of 2012)
Richard Wells – HR Director
Chris Airey – IT Director
Natalie Beckerman – Customer Experience Director
Brian Wheadon – Fleet Director
Maurice Oomen – Programme Director

Financial Information

The following is from WorkSMART.co.uk which claims to be accurate from information provided by Company House and Bureau Van Vijk.

Last registered accounts: 30/04/2010
Accounts next due: 31/01/2012

Annual turnover: £324,899,000.00
Annual profit: £-21,120,000.00

Number of staff: 6,997
Total spent on wages: £141,934,000.00
Number of directors: 14
Directors’ remuneration: £562,000.00
Increase over last 3 years: 102.89%
Highest paid director’s salary: £451,000.00 (Including accrued pension and lump sum, if applicable)
Increase over last 3 years: 62.82%

%d bloggers like this: